Parliamentary Committees

  Oct 07, 2020

Parliamentary Committees

Q. What is a Parliamentary Committee?

Q. What are types of Parliamentary Committee ?

  1. Standing Committees are permanent and regular committees which are constituted from time to time in pursuance of the provisions of an Act of Parliament or Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in Lok Sabha. The work of these Committees is of continuous nature. The Financial Committees, DRSCs and some other Committees come under the category of Standing Committees.
  2. Ad hoc Committees are appointed for a specific purpose and they cease to exist when they finish the task assigned to them and submit a report. The principal Ad hoc Committees are the Select and Joint Committees on Bills. Railway Convention Committee, Joint Committee on Food Management in Parliament House Complex etc also come under the category of ad hoc Committees.

Q. What is the need of  Parliamentary Committee?

Q. What is its role in the passage of a Bill?

Q. What is a Select Committee?

Q. What happens when a bill goes to a Committee?

Q. What happens after the report?