banner articles

Odisha’s blackbucks double in 6 years

  Jul 06, 2021

Odisha’s blackbucks double in 6 years

Q. What’s in the news?


  • Odisha’s blackbuck population has doubled in the last six years, according to figures from the latest population census.

Q. What’s about blackbucks in Odisha?


  • Blackbucks are found only in the Ganjam district in the southern part of the state, which is where the census was carried out.
  • It is known in Odisha and Ganjam as Krushnasara Mruga.
  • The people of Ganjam believe the sighting of a blackbuck in a paddy field is a harbinger of luck for them.
  • It used to be sighted in the Balukhand-Konark Wildlife Sanctuary in Puri district till 2012-13, but now has vanished from the area.
  • The blackbuck is a Schedule-1 animal according to the Wild Life (Protection) Act, 1972 (amended in 1992) and is considered as ‘Vulnerable’ according to the Red Data Book.

Q. What’s the reasons for their rise?


  • Improvement of habitats, the protection given by the local people and forest staff were some of the reasons for the increase of the population.
  • The people of Ganjam had been enthusiastically protecting the animal like the Bishnois of western Rajasthan and the Vala Rajputs of Saurashtra.

Q. What’s about Wildlife (Protection) Act, 1972?


  • WPA provides for the protection of the country’s wild animals, birds, and plant species, in order to ensure environmental and ecological security.
  • It provides for the protection of a listed species of animals, birds, and plants, and also for the establishment of a network of ecologically important protected areas in the country.
  • It provides for various types of protected areas such as Wildlife Sanctuaries, National Parks, etc.
  • There are six schedules provided in the WPA for the protection of wildlife species which can be concisely summarized as under:
Schedule I:

These species need rigorous protection and therefore, the harshest penalties for violation of the law are for species under this Schedule.

Schedule II:

Animals under this list are accorded high protection. They cannot be hunted except under threat to human life.

Schedule III & IV:

This list is for species that are not endangered. This includes protected species but the penalty for any violation is less compared to the first two schedules.

Schedule V:This schedule contains animals which can be hunted.
Schedule VI:This list contains plants that are forbidden from cultivation.