New Guidelines By Ministry Of Tribal Affairs / Forests Right Act .

  Jan 05, 2021

New Guidelines By Ministry Of Tribal Affairs / Forests Right Act .

Q. Why is this in news?

According to the draft, the Gram Sabhas will:

Q. What is Forest Rights Act, 2006?

Q. What are the objectives of the act? 

Q. What are the features of this act? 

Q. What are the types of rights recognized by the act? 

The act identifies four types of rights:

1. Title rights: It gives FDST and OTFD the right to ownership to land farmed by tribals or forest dwellers subject to a maximum of 4 hectares.

Ownership is only for land that is actually being cultivated by the concerned family and no new lands will be granted.

2. Use rights: The rights of the dwellers extend to extracting Minor Forest Produce, grazing areas, to pastoralist routes, etc.

3. Relief and development rights: To rehabilitation in case of illegal eviction or forced displacement and to basic amenities, subject to restrictions for forest protection

4. Forest management rights: It includes the right to protect, regenerate or conserve or manage any community forest resource which they have been traditionally protecting and conserving for sustainable use.

Explained: Forest Rights Act – Civilsdaily

Q. Who can claim these Rights?

Q. Which is the authority responsible for it? 

The Gram Sabha is the authority to initiate the process for determining the nature and extent of Individual Forest Rights (IFR) or Community Forest Rights (CFR) or both that may be given to FDST and OTFD.

Q. What is the procedure for it? 

Q. What is its Importance? 

Q. What are the issues and challenges ahead?

Way forward: