India stands committed to UNCLOS

  Jan 04, 2022

India stands committed to UNCLOS

Q What is the context  ?

A India remains committed to promoting a free, open and rules-based order rooted in international law and undaunted by coercion, the Centre informed Parliament while reiterating support for the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea (UNCLOS).

Q What is the Background of UNCLOS ?

Q What are some key details about UNCLOS ?

  1. International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea,
  2. International Seabed Authority
  3. Commission on the Limits of the Continental Shelf

Note: UNCLOS does not deal with matters of territorial disputes or to resolve issues of sovereignty, as that field is governed by rules of customary international law on the acquisition and loss of territory.

India and UNCLOS

Q What are Major conventions of  UNCLOS ?

A There had been three major conferences of UNCLOS:

  1. UNCLOS I: It resulted in the successful implementation of various conventions regarding Territorial Sea and Contiguous Zones, Continental Shelf, High Seas, Fishing Rights.
  2. UNCLOS II: No agreement was reached over breadth of territorial waters.
  3. UNCLOS III: It introduced a number of provisions. The most significant issues covered were setting limits, navigation, archipelagic status and transit regimes, exclusive economic zones (EEZs), continental shelf jurisdiction, deep seabed mining, the exploitation regime, protection of the marine environment, scientific research, and settlement of disputes.

The convention set the limit of various areas, measured from a carefully defined baseline.

Q What are the important Terminologies of UNCLOS ?

A  These terminologies are as follows:

(1) Baseline

(2) Internal waters

(3) Territorial waters

(4) Archipelagic waters

(5) Contiguous zone

(6) Exclusive economic zones (EEZs)

(7) Continental shelf